Eric Esarey wins the AAC 2018 Prize

For his pioneering theoretical research in the physics of laser-plasma accelerators, the winner of the AAC 2018 Prize is Eric Esarey from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

Previous AAC Prize Awardees:

AAC 2016: Warren Mori (UCLA)
AAC 2014: Phil Sprangle (University of Maryland)
AAC 2012: Wim Leemans (LBNL)
AAC 2010: Robert Palmer (BNL)
AAC 2008: Chan Joshi (UCLA)

Since 2008, the AAC Prize has been awarded to individuals for outstanding contributions to the science and technology of advanced accelerator concepts. The AAC Prize will be awarded at the 2018 Advanced Accelerator Concepts Workshop during the Banquet. The Prize is comprised of a monetary award of $5,000 and a plaque. This prize is made possible by generous donations from Euclid Techlabs and RadiaBeam Technologies.

The AAC ’18 Prize Committee consists of Chan Joshi (UCLA, Chair), Wim Leemans (LBNL, Vice-Chair), Bruce Carlsten (LANL), Daniel Gordon (NRL), David Sutter (U. Maryland), and Warren Mori (UCLA).

The winner of the 2018 AAC Prize has been selected. The Prize will be presented at the AAC Banquet on the evening of Thursday, August 16.